‘coz I love him

Yes, I do love him. He is the guy I’ve been waiting for all these years; the guy whom I’ve been praying for. The guy who doesn’t complete me, but rather complements me for I am already complete as a person.

And yes, he is an American and I am a Filipina,and I am not ashamed to shout it to the world that our love is pure and genuine.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Some people gave me “that look” whenever they see us walking hand in hand in the streets, in the mall or inside a restaurant. “That look” that means “Oh, another Filipina who wants to fly in America and become an American citizen and have a green card to help her poor family.” Oh yes, he’s a foreigner but let me clear this once and for all. I am with him because I love him and not because I need his money to have a better life. *insert rolls eyes*

Everyone automatically have this kind thinking that I am after his money. First of all, I have my own money. I am currently working in a media company, supervising at least 6 accounting staffs, and earning a ┬ámonthly salary enough to provide for my family and my own needs, and that answers the first judgment that I need his money. I definitely don’t need a relationship if I need someone to finance my needs. I already can handle that myself.

Secondly, people think marrying him is my ticket to have a good-looking kids that I can market and send to showbiz. Hell no? I already came from a good looking family so I don’t need an American to give me a beautiful genes. But yes, his and mine will definitely results to a beautiful offsprings.

Furthermore, people think that having an American boyfriend is all about money and sex. I beg to disagree. Relationship is not all about money and sex. It’s all about deeper connection, intimacy without having sex and understanding without even uttering a single word. That’s how our relationship is. We don’t want to cross that limitation we have set to ourselves and regret later. (And I really love him for respecting my decision to do it on the night of our wedding day.)

Lastly, I chose to love him not because he is an American but because he is the guy whom I feel secure with, the one I feel comfortable and at peace. I love him because he has all the characteristics I’ve been looking for in a guy. He’s witty, funny, respectable and dignified. I love him coz I love him.

Love is even an understatement to express what I really feel for him.

Leave a Reply

